Chicago Bears Traditions

History by Decades

Highlights from the 1960s

The Bears won their final title under Halas in 1963, beating the NY Giants, 14-10, at Wrigley Field. A new era was signaled in 1965 when the club drafted Dick Butkus and Gale Sayers in the first round of the college draft. Sayers set a NFL record with 22 TDs as a rookie, including six in a single game against the 49ers. Prior to the 1968 season, Halas retired from coaching after 40 seasons and a 324-151-31 record. Ed McCaskey was named team's vice-president and treasurer in 1967, a position he held for 17 years before being named to Chairman of the Board in 1983. Ed spearheaded the club's civic activities for many years and attends NFL meetings. Among his many civic contributions on behalf of the Bears was guiding the Brian Piccolo Fund from its inception in 1970 to 1987, raising millions of dollars for cancer research.


Bears destroy the scorching 49er shotgun formation 31-0 with Bill George playing middle guard and the defensive line stunting.


The Bears intercept New York Giants quarterback Y.A. Title five times and win the NFL championship. The team's 14-10 victory was played before 45,801 fans on a bone-chilling afternoon at Wrigley Field. Bill Wade scored both touchdowns on two- and one-yard runs. Each player earns $5,899.


Flanker Johnny Morris catches NFL record 93 passes.


Bears set standard for draft by selecting LB Dick Butkus and RB Gale Sayers in first round. Sayers bursts into pro football with an NFL record 22 TDs.


Gale Sayers scores six TDs against 49ers.


Gale Sayers sets NFL combined yards record with 2,440.


The all-time winningest coach in football history, George Halas, retires from coaching after 40 seasons with 324 wins, 151 losses and 31 ties.