| The Official Website of the Chicago Bears

Who are best Bears never to make Pro Bowl?

Alex Brown, defensive end (2002-09)

Who are the best players in Bears history who never made a Pro Bowl as a member of the organization? We want to know what you think. So we're encouraging our fans to rank the following 10 players (who are listed in alphabetical order). We'll reveal the fan results next week—along with my rankings as well.

Alex Brown
Defensive End (2002-09)

Brown spent his first eight NFL seasons with the Bears, appearing in 127 games with 107 starts and recording 43.5 sacks and five interceptions. He ranks fourth on the team's all-time sack list behind only Richard Dent, Steve McMichael and Dan Hampton.

Doug Buffone
Linebacker (1966-79)

One of the most popular Bears players during and after his career, Buffone played 14 seasons in Chicago, tied for second in franchise history. Though overshadowed by Hall of Fame teammate Dick Butkus, Buffone was a playmaker whose 24 career interceptions are the most in Bears history by a linebacker.

Curtis Conway
Receiver (1993-99)

Selected by the Bears with the seventh pick in the 1993 draft, Conway played his first seven NFL seasons in Chicago. He is tied for fourth on the franchise's all-time receiving list with 329 receptions, is sixth with 4,498 yards and is tied for fifth with 31 touchdowns.

Mike Hartenstine
Defensive End (1975-86)

Chosen by the Bears in the second round of the 1975 draft, Hartenstine appeared in 179 games with 140 starts over 12 seasons. A rugged defender against the run and pass, he led the Bears with 12 sacks in 1983, the second year after sacks became an official NFL statistic.

Thomas Jones
Running Back (2004-06)

Jones played just three seasons with the Bears, but he was highly productive, leading the team in rushing with 948 yards in 2004, 1,335 in 2005 and 1,210 in 2006. The only other Bears players who have rushed for at least 1,200 yards in two seasons are Walter Payton and Matt Forte.

Dennis McKinnon
Receiver (1983-85, ’87-89)

A starter on the 1985 Super Bowl XX championship team, McKinnon caught 180 passes for 2,840 yards and 21 touchdowns and returned three punts for TDs in 85 games over six seasons with the Bears. He was also an excellent and willing blocker on offense.

Ed O’Bradovich
Defensive End (1962-71)

A key member of the 1963 NFL championship team, O'Bradovich spent his entire 10-year NFL career with the Bears. The Chicago native's interception set up the Bears' game-winning touchdown in their 14-10 victory over the New York Giants in the NFL title game.

Jim Osborne
Defensive Tackle (1972-84)

A stalwart on defense for more than a decade, Osborne spent his entire 13-year NFL career with the Bears, appearing in 186 games with 154 starts. The Florida native was selected by the Bears in the seventh round of the 1972 draft out of Southern.

Tom Thayer
Guard (1985-92)

Selected by the Bears in the fourth round of the 1983 draft out of Notre Dame, the Joliet product was an integral part of some of the best offensive lines in NFL history, appearing in 123 games with 120 starts over eight seasons with the Bears.

Keith Van Horne
Tackle (1981-93)

Chosen by the Bears with the 11th pick in the first round of the 1981 draft out of USC, Van Horne appeared in 186 games with 169 starts over 13 seasons. He was a key member of the 1985 Super Bowl championship team, joining Thayer, left tackle Jimbo Covert, left guard Mark Bortz and center Jay Hilgenberg on a talented offensive line.