Skip to main content
Website header - Chicago
Advertising | The Official Website of the Chicago Bears


Chalk Talk


How many Round 1 QBs for Bears?


Wondering about a player, a past game or another issue involving the Bears? Senior writer Larry Mayer answers a variety of email questions from fans on

How many times have the Bears picked a quarterback in the first round of the draft?

William N.
West Chester, Pennsylvania

The Bears have chosen eight quarterbacks in the first round of the draft: Sid Luckman (second in 1939), Johnny Lujack (fourth in 1946), Bobby Layne (seventh in 1948), Bob Williams (second in 1951), Jim McMahon (fifth in 1982), Jim Harbaugh (26th in 1987), Cade McNown (12th in 1999) and Rex Grossman (22nd in 2003).

I read about the Steve Fuller-Deshaun Watson Clemson connection in your article this week and remember Fuller was a good backup quarterback with the Bears. How many games did he start for the 1985 Super Bowl champions?

Phil R.
Rosemont, Illinois

Steve Fuller started five games for the 1985 Bears, posting a 4-1 record. He opened a Week 3 game against the Vikings in Minnesota and was famously replaced by Jim McMahon, who threw three touchdown passes to rally the Bears to a thrilling 33-24 victory after spending most of the week in the hospital with a back injury. Fuller started four straight games later in the season when McMahon was sidelined with a shoulder injury. The Bears won Fuller's first three starts during that span by a ridiculous combined score of 104-3, beating the Lions 24-3, Cowboys 44-0 and Falcons 36-0. In 1985, Fuller completed 53 of 107 passes for 777 yards with one touchdown, five interceptions and a 57.3 passer rating.

How many times have the Bears closed a season by losing their last four games and how did they fare the following year?

Russell G.
Oak Lawn, Illinois

This season marked the eighth time in franchise history that the Bears lost their last four games, previously doing so in 1969, 1971, 1973, 1989, 1993, 2004 and 2014. Three of the last four times it happened, the Bears made the playoffs the following year, winning the NFC Central with an 11-5 record in 1990, earning a wildcard berth with a 9-7 mark in 1994 and winning the NFC North with an 11-5 record in 2005. On the other four occasions, they posted a losing record the next season. Interestingly, the Bears never lost their final four games in their first 50 years of existence with all eight instances occurring over their last 47 seasons.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content