| The Official Website of the Chicago Bears

Community News

Bears announce 2022 Collin Wehr Scholarship winner


The Bears announced Tuesday that Fiona Campbell, a senior at Grayslake North High School, as the recipient of the Collin Wehr Scholarship. 

Offensive lineman Teven Jenkins and chairman George H. McCaskey virtually surprised Campbell with the news that she is receiving a $20,000 college scholarship. Campbell was born with neurofibromatosis (NF1), a genetic disorder of the nervous system that resulted in three rounds of chemotherapy after suffering from three brain tumors at a young age and undergoing multiple surgeries. Campbell did not let cancer stop her from being an outstanding student and has shown great leadership through community service for the Village of Round Lake Heights and Feed My Starving Children. Her plan is to attend Carthage College to study Special Education. She wants to make a change by helping future special education students battling similar struggles to excel academically and feel accepted.

The Chicago Bears Collin Wehr Scholarship program provides financial assistance to young cancer survivors or the siblings of children who lost their battle with pediatric cancer. The inspiration for this scholarship comes from Collin Wehr, who ended his battle with pediatric cancer in March 2013. Wehr first visited Halas Hall in 2011 to fulfill his wish of being an NFL Network reporter and reported live from Halas Hall alongside Tom Waddle. Past winners include William Nestos (University of Missouri, 2020), Melanie Nelson (Maryville University, 2019), Kate Foster (University of North Carolina, 2018), Jamarielle Ransom-Marks (Northwestern University, 2017), Amy Seraphin (The Catholic University of America, 2016), Sarah Hamideh (University of Illinois, 2015) and Ramsay Wehr (University of Nebraska-Lincoln, 2014). For more information, please visit

Related Content