Skip to main content
Advertising | The Official Website of the Chicago Bears

Community News

Bears celebrate High School football

The Chicago Bears celebrated Illinois high school football on Sunday, December 2 during the Bears vs. Seahawks game at Soldier Field by recognizing each of the 2012 Illinois High School Association (IHSA) Football State Champions, the nine Bears High School "All-Star of the Week" winners, and the nine Chicago Bears "Coach of the Week" winners in an on-field presentation at halftime.

Representatives from each of the following 2012 IHSA Football were guests of the Bears and Illinois Army National Guard at the game:

  • Class 1A – Maroa-Forsyth High School
  • Class 2A – Mercer County High School
  • Class 3A – Aurora Christian High School
  • Class 4A – Rochester High School
  • Class 5A – Montini Catholic High School
  • Class 6A – Crete-Monee High School
  • Class 7A – Glenbard West High School
  • Class 8A – Mt. Carmel High School

The Chicago Bears and Illinois Army National Guard honored outstanding high school football players through the "Bears High School All-Star of the Week" program. Each week for nine weeks, a high school football player was selected for his on-field performance, community involvement and good sportsmanship. Each player had the opportunity to direct a $1,000 monetary donation to the youth football program of his choice. The 2012 winners include:


Bears High School "All-Star of the Week" winners are honored at half-time.

  • Michael Hermosillo, Ottawa Township High School
  • Grant Rushing, Glenbrook North High School
  • A.J. Fish, Grayslake North High School
  • Cameron Mammen, Urbana High School
  • Chris James, Notre Dame College Prep
  • Herman Senor II, Springfield Southeast High School
  • Chris Streveler, Marion Central Catholic High School
  • Eric Brydl, Sacred Heart-Griffin High School
  • Jack Beneventi, Benet Academy

The "Coach of the Week" program recognizes outstanding high school football coaches who develop players' football skills and knowledge, character, discipline, and teamwork abilities. The Bears donated $1,500 to the football programs at each winning coach's school. In addition to being guests of the Bears at the game, each honoree received a framed autographed certificate and attended a Bears practice and "chalk-talk" with Head Coach Lovie Smith. The Chicago Bears "Coach of the Week" program is brought to you by FOX Chicago. The 2012 "Coach of the Week" winners include:

  • Ken Leonard, Sacred Heart-Griffin High School
  • Vito Andriola, Dundee-Crown High School
  • Tim Zasada, Reavis High School
  • Glen Kozlowski, North Chicago High School
  • Aaron Kunz, Williamsville High School
  • Dan Appino, Rockford Auburn High School
  • Bill Ellinhaus, Neuqua Valley High School
  • Pat New, Benet Academy
  • Tom Fedderly, Kaneland High School
This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content