Skip to main content
Advertising | The Official Website of the Chicago Bears

Community News

Bears honor high school football champions


The Chicago Bears would like to congratulate all of the 2017 Illinois High School Association (IHSA) Football State Champions! Representatives from each of the following schools will be guests of the Bears at the Bears vs. San Francisco 49ers game on December 3 and will be recognized during an on-field presentation at halftime:

Class 1A – Lena-Winslow High School
Class 2A – Gibson City-Melvin-Sibley High School
Class 3A – IC Catholic Prep
Class 4A – Rochester High School
Class 5A – Wendell Phillips Academy High School
Class 6A – Prairie Ridge High School
Class 7A – Batavia High School
Class 8A – Lincoln-Way East High School

Through the Coach of the Week and Bears High School All-Star programs, the Chicago Bears honor some of Illinois' top high school football coaches and players each season. Both programs run for nine weeks, with deserving high school coaches and players being nominated by a panel of local prep authorities. The 2017 "Coach of the Week" and "Bears High School All-Star" honorees will be invited to the Bears vs. 49ers game on Sunday, December 3 at Soldier Field.

The Coach of the Week program recognizes outstanding high school football coaches who develop players' football skills and knowledge, character, discipline, and teamwork abilities. The 2017 Coach of the Week winners include:

  • Chris Roll of Lake Park High School
  • Jon Pereiro of Plainfield Central High School
  • Addonte Adams of North Chicago High School
  • Rob Pomazak of St. Charles North High School
  • Brett Cazalet of Dunlap High School
  • Jeff Vlk of Buffalo Grove High School
  • Michael Boehm of De La Salle Institute
  • Terry McCombs of Minooka Community High School
  • Nick Hildreth of Willowbrook High School

In addition to being guests of the Bears at today's game, each Coach of the Week honoree received a framed autographed certificate and attended Bears practice on Thursday, November 30 at Halas Hall. The Chicago Bears Coach of the Week program is brought to you by Papa John's and FOX 32 Chicago.

Each week for nine weeks, a high school football player was selected through the Bears High School All-Stars program for his on-field performance, community involvement and good sportsmanship. Players who were honored in 2017 include:

  • Drake Davis of Naperville North High School
  • Justin Wright of Taylorville High School
  • Adam Jayko of Johnsburg High School
  • Justin Hall of Homewood-Flossmoor High School
  • Quentin Pringle of Bolingbrook High School
  • Drew Clippert of Aurora Christian High School
  • Ray Niro of Barrington High School
  • Mike Hohensee of St. Charles North High School
  • Nick D'Ambrose of Addison Trail High School

In addition to being guests of the Bears at today's game, each player had the opportunity to direct a $500 monetary donation to the youth football program of his choice. The Chicago Bears High School All-Star program is brought to you by Papa John's.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content