Skip to main content
Advertising | The Official Website of the Chicago Bears

Community News

Bears Honor Top Prep Coaches and Players


Through the "Coach of the Week" and "Bears High School All-Star" programs, the Chicago Bears honor some of Illinois' top high school football coaches and players each season. Both programs run for nine weeks, with deserving high school coaches and players being nominated by a panel of local prep authorities. The 2016 "Coach of the Week" and "Bears High School All-Star" honorees will be invited to the Bears vs. 49ers game on Sunday, December 4 at Soldier Field.

The Chicago Bears "Coach of the Week" program honors outstanding Illinois high school coaches who develop players' football skills and knowledge, character, leadership, discipline and teamwork abilities. Other criteria considered include unique coaching methodology, school and community support, volunteerism and, most importantly, contributions to players' long-term success on and off the field. The Chicago Bears will make a $1,500 contribution to the football program at each winning coach's school. The Chicago Bears "Coach of the Week" program is brought to you by FOX 32 Chicago. The 2016 "Coach of the Week" honorees include:


• Gene Nudo, Fenwick High School
• Paul Murphy, Waubonsie Valley High School
• Rich Petroski, St. Joseph High School
• Brett Boyter, Joliet Central Catholic High School
• Kurt Weinberg, Lyons Township High School
• Pat Jennings, Thornridge High School
• Brian Doll, New Trier High School
• Mike Kohl, Bradley-Bourbonnais High School
• Anthony Mason, Elgin High School

Each week for nine weeks, an outstanding high school football player was selected through the "Bears High School All-Stars" program. Each of the nine players will have the opportunity to direct a $500 monetary donation to the youth football program of his choice. The nomination criteria for the program include on-field performance, community involvement and good sportsmanship. The 2016 "Bears High School All-Star" honorees include:


• Geno Hess, Peoria High School
• Jordan Rowell, IC Catholic Prep
• Noah Hickcox, Boylan Catholic High School
• Fayezon Smart, St. Laurence High School
• Brenton Shaw, Harlem High School
• Dino Borelli, Brother Rice High School
• Brantrell Seymore, Reavis High School
• Zach Oles, Palatine High School
• Jalen Dennis, Wheeling High School

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content