| The Official Website of the Chicago Bears


Chalk Talk


Chalk Talk: What was last Bears draft class with three Pro Bowlers?

Wondering about a player, a past game or another issue involving the Bears? Senior writer Larry Mayer answers a variety of questions from fans on

When was the last time the Bears had three players from the same draft class all voted to the Pro Bowl like they did this season with Mitchell Trubisky, Eddie Jackson and Tarik Cohen?
Donald T.
Wilmette, Illinois

The 2017 draft class that includes first-round quarterback Mitchell Trubisky, fourth-round safety Eddie Jackson and fourth-round running back Tarik Cohen is the Bears' first to produce three Pro Bowlers since the 1983 crop sent first-round tackle Jimbo Covert, third-round safety Dave Duerson and eighth-round defensive end Richard Dent to the Pro Bowl in 1985, the year the Bears won Super Bowl XX. A fourth member of the Bears' 1983 class, eighth-round guard Mark Bortz, was voted to the Pro Bowl in 1988.

It was great to see the Bears have eight players chosen for the Pro Bowl this season. What's the most they've ever had selected to the game?
Shawn P.
Duluth, Georgia

Since the Pro Bowl was created in its present form in 1950, the most players the Bears have ever had selected was nine (not surprisingly) in 1985, the year they won the Super Bowl. The nine players chosen that season were tackle Jimbo Covert, defensive end Richard Dent, safety Dave Duerson, defensive end Dan Hampton, center Jay Hilgenberg, quarterback Jim McMahon, running back Walter Payton, middle linebacker Mike Singletary and linebacker Otis Wilson. That obviously was a very impressive group with four Hall of Famers in Dent, Hampton, Payton and Singletary. This season marked the third time the Bears had eight Pro Bowlers, matching 1956 and 1963.

It seems to me there was a season back in the 1960s where the top Bears running back only gained about 300 yards rushing for the whole season. Just what are the lowest and highest season rushing totals (excluding Bobby Douglass) by Bears running backs?
Fabian B.
Everett, Washington

Hall of Fame running back Walter Payton holds the Bears single-season rushing record with 1,852 yards in 1977. The lowest output by a Bears rushing leader in franchise history came in 1970 when Ross Montgomery topped the team with a meager 229 yards.

Related Content