Skip to main content
Advertising | The Official Website of the Chicago Bears


Chalk Talk


How has Hroniss Grasu fared?


Wondering about a player, a past game or another issue involving the Bears? Senior writer Larry Mayer answers a variety of email questions from fans on

With all the hype surrounding Kevin White, Eddie Goldman and Jeremy Langford, we haven't heard much about Hroniss Grasu. How did he perform in minicamp and do you think he'll compete for a starting position this summer in training camp?

Eric L.
Farley, Iowa

The Bears were pleased with how rookie center Hroniss Grasu progressed in the classroom and on the field throughout the offseason program. He's an intelligent player whose character is off the charts, and that was evident to me in dealing with him throughout the past few months. Grasu certainly seems to possess all the attributes, potential and intangibles to compete for a starting position this summer in training camp and the preseason. Regardless of whether he earns the job as a rookie, I believe that he's capable of anchoring the offensive line for many years to come.

With all the recent tributes to Doug Buffone and knowing that Otis Wilson and Lance Briggs also wore No. 55, I was wondering if anyone else of note also wore that number with the Bears.

Martin I.
Ann Arbor, Michigan

I didn't purposely pair the first two questions in today's "Chalk Talk," but here's hoping that rookie center Hroniss Grasu will be the next great No. 55 with the Bears. Star linebackers Doug Buffone (1966-79), Otis Wilson (1980-87) and Lance Briggs (2003-14) combined to wear the number for 34 seasons. The only other Bears Pro Bowler to wear No. 55 was center Larry Strickland (1954-59). Other 55s included: Bob Fenimore (1947), Fred Venturelli (1948), J.R. Boone (1948-51), Robert Moser (1951-53), John Roper (1989-92), Vinson Smith (1993-96), Sean Harris (1997), Greg Jones (2000) and Mike Caldwell (2002).

Are there any NFL teams that the Bears have never beaten or never lost to?

Pete S.
Bolingbrook, Illinois

The only NFL team the Bears have never defeated is the Texans, having lost all three meetings to Houston in 2004, 2008 and 2012. As for the second part of your question, there isn't a team the Bears have never lost to. Their best winning percentage is .741 against the Steelers, owning a 21-7-1 series advantage. The Bears also hold decided edges over the Jets (8-3, .727) Eagles (30-12-1, .709), Cardinals (58-27-6, .682) and Buccaneers (37-18, .673).

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content