Skip to main content
Advertising | The Official Website of the Chicago Bears

Community News

Eddie Jackson to receive Ed Block Courage Award

Bears safety Eddie Jackson
Bears safety Eddie Jackson

Safety Eddie Jackson will be presented with the Bears' 2022 Ed Block Courage Award Tuesday, March 14, at a luncheon at Manzo's Banquets in Des Plaines.

The prestigious awards are presented to one player on all 32 NFL teams who best exemplifies a commitment to sportsmanship and courage and serves as an inspiration in the locker room. The award recipients, who are voted for by their teammates, symbolize professionalism, great strength and dedication, and they are considered community role models.

Jackson was enjoying a resurgent 2022 campaign when he sustained a season-ending foot injury in a Week 12 game against the Jets. At the time of his injury, he led the Bears with 61 tackles, four interceptions, six pass breakups and two forced fumbles—and topped NFC free safeties in Pro Bowl voting.

Jackson was selected as the Bears' Defensive Player of the Year by

Each NFL team participating in the Ed Block Courage Award Foundation program selects a "Courage House" that supports victims of abuse, violence and neglect. The Bears' designated Courage House is Maryville Academy's Crisis Nursery in Des Plaines. Maryville is a social service agency which sponsors programs for children and families. Maryville's Crisis Nursery provides temporary emergency child care for families in crisis.

The Ed Block Courage Award luncheon also honors the late Ed McCaskey by raising money for a fund in his name that provides high school, college and vocational scholarships to the children of Maryville. During his tenure with the Bears—first as vice president and treasurer and later as chairman and chairman emeritus—McCaskey was known for his generosity to Maryville.

Ed Block was a long-time head trainer with the Baltimore Colts who was a pioneer in his field. The foundation promotes the prevention of child abuse by raising awareness of the epidemic and assisting agencies that provide for the care and treatment of abused children.

Block and his wife dedicated their lives to helping children in distress as foster parents and advisers. There are presently 27 Courage Houses connected with NFL teams and this is the 43rd year the awards have been presented.

Click here for information about the Ed Block Courage Award Luncheon or to purchase tickets.

Related Content