Skip to main content
Advertising | The Official Website of the Chicago Bears

Trubisky named to NFC Pro Bowl roster


Quarterback Mitchell Trubisky has been named to the NFC Pro Bowl roster, becoming the sixth Bears player to be selected to participate in the league's annual all-star game.

Trubisky replaces the Rams' Jared Goff, who is unable to participate because he will play in the Super Bowl.

The Pro Bowl will kick off at 2 p.m. (CT) Sunday at Camping World Stadium in Orlando.

In his second NFL season and first as a full-time starter, Trubisky led the Bears to a 12-4 record and the NFC North title. Starting 14 games, he completed 66.6 percent of his passes for 3,223 yards with 24 touchdowns, 12 interceptions and a 95.4 passer rating. Trubisky also rushed for 421 yards and three TDs on 68 carries.

Trubisky became the first Bears quarterback to post a passer rating of at least 120.0 in four games in a season and tied the franchise record with four 300-yard performances. He also set a Bears postseason record with 303 yards in a wild-card loss to the Eagles.

In a 48-10 win over the Buccaneers Sept. 30 at Soldier Field, Trubisky threw six touchdown passes, tied for the second most in Bears history behind Hall of Famer Sid Luckman's seven TD passes on Nov. 14, 1943 in a 56-7 win over the Giants.

Trubisky also became the first Bears player to toss five TD passes in a half and his 154.6 passer rating was the highest by a Bears quarterback since Dec. 7, 1980 when Vince Evans posted a perfect 158.3 rating in a 61-7 victory over the Packers.

Trubisky's nine touchdown passes against the Buccaneers and Dolphins were the most by a Bears quarterback in back-to-back games since Luckman also had nine in 1943. In addition, Trubisky's 13 TD passes during Weeks 4-8 where the most by a Bears quarterback over a four-game span since Luckman also had 13 in 1947.

In a Week 10 win over the Lions, Trubisky passed for a career-high 355 yards and three touchdowns and rushed for a fourth TD to earn NFC player of the week honors.

Trubisky is the first Bears quarterback named to the Pro Bowl since Jim McMahon was selected in 1985 when he helped lead the team to its first Super Bowl championship.

The other Bears chosen to this season's Pro Bowl are outside linebacker Khalil Mack, defensive tackle Akiem Hicks, safety Eddie Jackson, cornerback Kyle Fuller and return specialist Tarik Cohen. Mack will not play in the game due to a minor knee injury he sustained in the Bears' wild-card playoff loss to the Eagles.

The six Pro Bowlers are the most for the Bears since 2011 when they also sent six in running back Matt Forte, defensive end Julius Peppers, linebackers Brian Urlacher and Lance Briggs, and special-teams standout Corey Graham.

The NFL has announced the initial rosters for the 2018-2019 Pro Bowl in Orlando, FL. Five players will represent the Bears with seven of their teammates selected as alternates for the league's annual all-star game.