Skip to main content
Advertising | The Official Website of the Chicago Bears

Bears Bulletin

Bears stars Mack, Patterson voted to Pro Bowl


Outside linebacker Khalil Mack and kick returner Cordarrelle Patterson have been selected to represent the Bears on the NFC Pro Bowl team. 

Mack has now been voted to six straight Pro Bowls, three in as many years with the Bears after three in a row with the Raiders. This season he tops the Bears with 8.0 sacks, is tied for the team lead with three forced fumbles and also has recorded nine tackles-for-loss, one interception, three pass breakups and two fumble recoveries. Mack was chosen as a starter on the NFC squad. 

Patterson has now been voted to the Pro Bowl in each of his two seasons with the Bears and four times in his eight-year NFL career overall. He also received the honor in 2013 and 2016 when he played for the Vikings. This year Patterson leads the NFL with a 29.44-yard average on 32 returns, slightly ahead of the Bills' Andre Roberts, who is averaging 29.42 yards on 31 returns. 

Patterson's 104-yard kickoff return touchdown Nov. 16 against the Vikings was the longest in Bears history and enabled him to tie the all-time NFL record of eight career kickoff return TDs with Joshua Cribbs and Leon Washington.

Patterson is second in NFL history with a 29.8-yard career kickoff return average, trailing only Bears Hall of Famer Gale Sayers (30.6). 

Pro Bowl players are selected by the consensus votes of fans, players and coaches, with each group accounting for one-third of the vote. Patterson was the only Bears player to receive the most fan votes at his position. 

The Pro Bowl was scheduled to be played Jan. 31, 2021, but the game was cancelled in October due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Related Content