| The Official Website of the Chicago Bears

Bears to honor one decade each home game


The Bears on Monday announced the order in which each decade will be honored at preseason and regular-season home games during the team's centennial season. In-game elements will highlight that game's decade.

The Bears will also recognize one Community All-Pros grant recipient per home game. Each of the 10 charities will receive a $100,000 grant in honor of the 100th season, totaling $1 million in donations.

Nine charities will be selected by a Bears' internal committee and announced in mid-July. The 10th charity will be narrowed down to three choices by the internal committee before it is opened to fan voting in October; the final charity will be announced the week before the last regular-season home game.

For more information on the application process, please visit

The decades that will be honored at home games this season are as follows:


Thursday, Aug. 8 vs. Carolina Panthers, 7 p.m.
Brought to you by United Airlines
Decade: 1920s
Bears players on 1920s NFL All-Decade Team: Guy Chamberlin, Paddy Driscoll, Red Grange, George Halas, Ed Healey, Hunk Anderson, George Trafton.
Highlights of the 1920s: The Bears were founded in 1920 as the Decatur Staleys and won their first league championship in 1921 as the Chicago Staleys.

Thursday, Aug. 29 vs. Tennessee Titans, 7 p.m.
Brought to you by United Airlines
Decade: 1950s
Bears players on 1950s NFL All-Decade Team: Dick Barwegan, Joe Fortunato, Bill George, Bobby Layne.
Highlights of the 1950s: The Bears won the 1956 Western Conference Championship and played in their first NFL title game since 1946.

Regular season

Thursday, Sept. 5 vs. Green Bay Packers, 7:20 p.m.
Brought to you by Miller Lite
Decade: 1980s
Bears players on 1980s NFL All-Decade Team: Jimbo Covert, Dan Hampton, Walter Payton, Mike Singletary.
Highlights of the 1980s: The Bears capped one of the most dominant seasons in NFL history in 1985 by pummeling the Patriots 46-10 in Super Bowl XX. They also won five straight NFC Central titles from 1984-88.

Sunday, Sept. 29 vs. Minnesota Vikings, 3:25 p.m.
Brought to you by Beggars Pizza
Decade: 1930s
Bears players on 1930s NFL All-Decade Team: Beattie Feathers, Danny Fortmann, Bill Hewitt, Bronko Nagurski, Joe Stydahar.
Highlights of the 1930s: The Bears won the 1932 NFL championship and set a league record by winning 18 straight regular-season games in 1933-34.

Sunday, Oct. 20 vs. New Orleans Saints, 3:25 p.m.
Brought to you by Advocate Health Care
Decade: 1970s
Bears players on 1970s NFL All-Decade Team: Dick Butkus, Walter Payton.
Highlights of the 1970s: Payton set an NFL single-game rushing record with 275 yards in a 1977 win over the Vikings and the Bears earned wild-card playoff berths in 1977 and 1979.

Sunday, Oct. 27 vs. Los Angeles Chargers, noon
Brought to you by Jewel-Osco
Decade: 2000s
Bears players on 2000s NFL All-Decade Team: Devin Hester, Olin Kreutz, Brian Urlacher.
Highlights of the 2000s: The Bears captured three division titles, winning the NFC Central in 2001 under Dick Jauron and the NFC North in 2005 and 2006 under Lovie Smith, advancing to the Super Bowl in 2006.

Sunday, Nov. 10 vs. Detroit Lions, noon
Decade: 1940s
Bears players on 1940s NFL All-Decade Team: Jim Benton, George Connor, Ken Kavanaugh, Sid Luckman, George McAfee, Bill Osmanski, Ed Sprinkle, Bulldog Turner.
Highlights of the 1940s: The Bears revolutionized the NFL by introducing the "T" formation and won NFL titles in 1940, 1941, 1943 and 1946.

Sunday, Nov. 24 vs. New York Giants, noon
Brought to you by PNC
Decade: 1960s
Bears players on 1960s NFL All-Decade Team: Doug Atkins, Dick Butkus, Larry Morris, Gale Sayers.
Highlights of the 1960s: The Bears won the NFL championship in 1963 and drafted Dick Butkus and Gale Sayers with back-to-back first-round picks in 1965.

Thursday, Dec. 5 vs. Dallas Cowboys, 7:20 p.m.
Brought to you by Dr Pepper
Decade: 1990s
Highlights of the 1990s: The Bears earned a wild-card berth and upset the Vikings in the first round of the playoffs in 1994, and Erik Kramer set single-season team passing records with 3,838 yards and 29 touchdowns in 1995.

Sunday, Dec. 22 vs. Kansas City Chiefs, 7:20 p.m.
Brought to you by Verizon
Decade: 2010s
Highlights of the 2010s: The Bears reached the NFC title game in 2010 under coach Lovie Smith and won the NFC North in 2018 with a 12-4 record in Matt Nagy's first season as coach.

Order in which the Bears will honor each decade at preseason and regular-season home games during the team's centennial season.