Skip to main content
Advertising | The Official Website of the Chicago Bears

Bears Bulletin

Justin Fields wins NFC Player of Week honors

Bears quarterback Justin Fields
Bears quarterback Justin Fields

Bears quarterback Justin Fields has been named the NFC Offensive Player of the Week for his record-breaking performance in last Sunday's 35-32 loss to the Dolphins.

The electrifying second-year pro rushed for 178 yards—the most by a quarterback in an NFL regular-season game—posted a 106.7 passer rating and produced four touchdowns—on a spectacular 61-yard run and passes of 18, 16 and four yards.

Fields became the first player in league history to rush for at least 140 yards and throw three or more TD passes in a game since at least 1950.

His 61-yard run was the longest by a Bears quarterback, eclipsing Vince Evans' 58-yarder Nov. 16, 1980. On third-and-5 from his own 39 early in the second half, Fields took a shotgun snap, stepped up in the pocket, pump-faked to his right and took off running. He eluded diving tackle attempts by two defenders and raced down the left sideline, picking up a late block from Darnell Mooney and cruising into the end zone.

Fields had eight rushes of at least 10 yards against the Dolphins, the most by an NFL player in a game this season. He accounted for the Bears' 10 longest plays from scrimmage Sunday with runs of 61, 17, 17, 14, 13 and 12 yards and passes of 18, 16, 12 and 12 yards.

Fields has now accounted for nine of the Bears' 11 touchdowns in their last three games, rushing for 320 yards and three TDs and passing for 453 yards with six TDs, one interception and a 106.1 passer rating.

Fields is the first Bears player to win NFC Offensive Player of the Week honors since quarterback Mitchell Trubisky was recognized in Week 10 of the 2018 season after passing for 355 yards and three TDs and rushing for 18 yards and one TD in a 34-22 win over the Lions in Chicago.

Of the 54 individuals selected AFC and NFC offensive, defensive and special teams players of the week this season, Fields is the only one who was chosen for his performance in a losing effort.

Related Content