Skip to main content
Advertising | The Official Website of the Chicago Bears

Community News

Symetra "Heroes in the Classroom"

The Chicago Bears and Symetra continue to work together to honor the outstanding work and dedication of teachers in the Chicago area through the Symetra "Heroes in the Classroom" program. During the 2015 season, 16 exceptional K-12 teachers were honored at their schools, and also received two tickets to a Bears home game, pregame sideline passes, a personalized Bears jersey, and a $1,000 donation for their classroom. Teachers honored as Symetra "Heroes in the Classroom" in 2015 included:


  • Michael Clay, Rickover Junior High School
  • Stormie McNeal, Peace & Education High School
  • Isabel Ruiz, Jahn Elementary School
  • Matthew Kurinsky, Hinsdale Central High School
  • Dan Peters, Morgan Park Academy
  • Kristie Wurglitz, Madison Elementary School
  • Brian Pindar, Abraham Lincoln Elementary School
  • Randie Bricker, Wilmot Elementary School
  • Lisa Vitale, River Trail School
  • Mallory Weber, Alan B. Shepard Middle School
  • Kathy Kibitlewski, Prairie Trail School
  • Mary Wimmer, Thornwood High School
  • Greg Dorgan, Wauconda High School
  • Michelle Mowery, Walter Payton College Prep
  • Sandra Raciti, Fairview South Elementary school
  • Robin Zogby, Sunset Ridge School

Hero selection is based on a teacher's ability to balance the core curriculum with students' individual needs; build trust among students, parents and the community; and invest in their students' long-term success.

Nominations are accepted year round, so nominate your favorite teacher today at, and they could be honored as a Symetra "Hero in the Classroom" during the 2016 season! Symetra "Heroes in the Classroom" is presented locally by Gallagher Benefit Services.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content