Skip to main content
Website header - Chicago
Advertising | The Official Website of the Chicago Bears

Training Camp Report

Bears announce first unofficial depth chart


The Bears have released their first unofficial depth chart in advance of Saturday's preseason opener against the Dolphins at Soldier Field.

As expected, Andy Dalton is listed as the starting quarterback, followed by backup Justin Fields and third-stringer Nick Foles.

The depth chart on offense includes three receivers, one running back and no fullback.

Allen Robinson II is the starter at one receiver position, ahead of Chris Lacy, Justin Hardy and Dazz Newsome. Darnell Mooney is first at another spot, followed by Damiere Byrd, Rodney Adams and Jon'Vea Johnson. The third starter is Marquise Goodwin, ahead of Riley Ridley, Javon Wims, Jester Weah and Thomas Ives.

David Montgomery is the No. 1 running back, followed by Damien Williams, Khalil Herbert, Ryan Nall, Artavis Pierce and CJ Marable.

The starting offensive line consists of left tackle Elijah Wilkinson, left guard Cody Whitehair, center Sam Mustipher, right guard James Daniels and right tackle Lachavious Simmons. The second unit features left tackle Teven Jenkins , left guard Arlington Hambright, center Dieter Eiselen, right guard Alex Bars and right tackle Tyrone Wheatley Jr.

Third-string offensive linemen include left tackle Larry Borom , left guard Dareuan Parker and center Adam Redmond. Badara Traore is listed fourth at left tackle.

Cole Kmet is the No. 1 tight end, followed by Jimmy Graham, Jesse James, J.P. Holtz, Jesper Horsted and Scooter Harrington.

The starting defensive line consists of tackle Akiem Hicks, nose tackle Khyiris Tonga and end Bilal Nichols. Second-stringers are tackle Angelo Blackson, nose tackle Mike Pennel and end Mario Edwards Jr.. Tackle LaCale London and end Daniel Archibong are listed with the third defense.

At inside linebacker, Roquan Smith and Danny Trevathan are the starters, Christian Jones and Joel Iyiegbuniwe are the backups, Josh Woods and Alec Ogletree are listed with the third team, and Caleb Johnson and Austin Calitro are fourth-stringers.

At outside linebacker, Khalil Mack and Robert Quinn are the starters, Trevis Gipson and Jeremiah Attaochu are the backups, Ledarius Mack Mack and James Vaughters are listed with the third team and Charles Snowden and Sam Kamara are fourth-stringers.

Jaylon Johnson is the starter at one cornerback position, ahead of Artie Burns, Thomas Graham Jr. and Tre Roberson, while Kindle Vildor is atop the depth chart at the other spot, followed by Desmond Trufant, Duke Shelley, Xavier Crawford and Dionte Ruffin.

At safety, Eddie Jackson and Tashaun Gipson Sr. are the starters, Deon Bush and DeAndre Houston-Carson are the backups, Marqui Christian and Teez Tabor are listed with the third team and Jordan Lucas and Michael Joseph are fourth-stringers.

Cairo Santos is the No. 1 kicker, ahead of Brian Johnson. Punter Pat O'Donnell and long-snapper Patrick Scales are the only players at their positions on the roster.

Herbert is the No. 1 kickoff returner, followed by Lacy, Adams and Johnson, while Byrd is the top punt returner, ahead of Mooney, Newsome and Marable.

Players who are not currently on the active roster are not listed on the depth chart. They include those on the physical unable to perform list (running back Tarik Cohen and tackle Germain Ifedi) and the reserve/COVID-19 list (nose tackle Eddie Goldman).

Related Content