Skip to main content
Advertising | The Official Website of the Chicago Bears


Eleven ex-Bears on College HOF ballot

Eleven former Bears players, including Brian Urlacher and Dan Hampton, have been nominated for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame.

The ballot consists of 75 players and six coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision and 95 players and 29 coaches from the division ranks.

The ballot was emailed this week to the more than 12,000 National Football Foundation members and current Hall of Famers whose votes will be tabulated and submitted to the NFF's Honors Courts, which deliberate and select the class.

The announcement of the 2017 Class will be made on Friday, Jan. 6, 2017, in Tampa. The city is serving as the host for the CFP National Championship, which will be played Jan. 9 at Raymond James Stadium.


Brian Urlacher has been nominated for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame.

The 2017 class will be inducted at the 60th NFF Annual Awards Dinner Dec. 5, 2017, at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel in New York. The inductees will be enshrined at the new College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta later that December and honored on the field during the 13th Annual National Hall of Fame Salute during the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl.

Here are the former Bears on the FBS ballot with their achievements from the College Football Hall of Fame website:

Mark Carrier, USC safety (With Bears 1990-96)
Two-time First Team All-American (1988-89) – unanimous in 1989... 1989 Jim Thorpe Award winner... Two-time First Team All-Conference selection... Led the Pac-10 in interceptions in 1989 with seven.

Brad Culpepper, Florida defensive tackle (2000)
1991 consensus First Team All-American and recipient of the NFF Campbell Trophy as the nation's top scholar-athlete...Two-time All-SEC selection who led Gators to first-ever SEC title in 1991...Ranks sixth all-time at Florida with 47.5 career TFL, a school record among defensive lineman.

Dan Hampton, Arkansas defensive lineman (1979-90)
1978 First Team All-American and two-time All-SWC selection...Named 1978 Houston Post Outstanding Player of the Year in the SWC, recording 18 TFL during his senior campaign...Helped Hogs beat No. 19 Georgia in 1976 Cotton Bowl and No. 2 Oklahoma in 1978 Orange Bowl.

Craig Heyward, Pittsburgh running back (1993)
1987 consensus First Team All-American who led the nation in rushing his final season and finished fifth in Heisman voting...Left Pitt as the second-leading rusher in school history (behind only Tony Dorsett) with 3,086 career rushing yards...Rushed for at least 100 yards in every game of 1987 season.

Dana Howard, Illinois linebacker (1996)
Two-time First Team All-American, earning unanimous honors as a senior...1994 Butkus Award winner and two-time Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year...School's all-time leading tackler (595) who led team in tackles each year of career.

Ron Rivera, California linebacker (1984-92)
1983 consensus First Team All-American...Lombardi Award finalist in 1983 and named East-West Shrine Game Most Valuable Player...Selected as Pac-10 Co-Defensive Player of the Year in 1983...Led team in tackles from 1981-83.

Rashaan Salaam, Colorado running back (1995-97)
1994 unanimous First Team All-American and Heisman Trophy winner...1994 Walter Camp Player of the Year and Doak Walker Award recipient... 1994 Big Eight Offensive Player of the Year who led nation in rushing, scoring and all-purpose yards.

Brian Urlacher, New Mexico safety (2000-12)
1999 consensus First Team All-American and finalist for the Jim Thorpe Award...Led the nation in tackles (178) as a junior and named 1999 Mountain West Conference Player of the Year...1999 UNM Male Athlete of the Year who ranks fourth all-time in school history with 442 career tackles.

Former Bears on the Division Ranks ballot:

Adrian Peterson, Georgia Southern running back (2002-09)
Four-time First Team All-American and only sophomore in history to win Walter Payton Award (1999)...NCAA Division I all-time leading rusher (6,559 yards)...Two-time SoCon Offensive Player of the Year who led team to consecutive national titles (1999-00).

Terry Schmidt, Ball State defensive back (1976-84)
Named First Team All-American in 1973 when he set a single-season school record with 13 interceptions...Team MVP as a senior...Played in the Coaches All-America Game and the East-West Shrine Game.

Steve Schubert, Massachusetts receiver (1975-79)
Named First Team All-American in 1972...Averaged 81.9 yards receiving per game in 1972, which ranks fourth on the school record list...Holds school record for average yards per catch in a season in with 20.1 in 1972.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content