Skip to main content
Advertising | The Official Website of the Chicago Bears


Urlacher named Hall of Fame finalist

Take a look back at the best photos of the 2017 season taken by Bears photographers.

Former Bears star middle linebacker Brian Urlacher has been selected as one of 15 finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2018.

The candidates are Tony Boselli, Isaac Bruce, Brian Dawkins, Alan Faneca, Steve Hutchinson, Joe Jacoby, Edgerrin James, Ty Law, Ray Lewis, John Lynch, Kevin Mawae, Randy Moss, Terrell Owens and Everson Walls.

The list of finalists was reduced from a group of 27 semifinalists.

Urlacher played his entire 13-year NFL career with the Bears after being selected with the ninth pick in the 2000 draft out of New Mexico. Fueled by a rare combination of size, speed and toughness, he was voted to eight Pro Bowls, was named NFL Rookie of the Year in 2000 and was selected NFL Defensive Player of the Year in 2005.

Urlacher was a four-time All-Pro who helped the Bears win four division titles and reach the Super Bowl in 2006. He started 180 of 182 games played with the Bears, recording 1,779 tackles, 41.5 sacks, 22 interceptions, 16 fumble recoveries and 11 forced fumbles. The only players who've started more games for the team are Hall of Fame running back Walter Payton (184) and center Olin Kreutz (183).

The 15 finalists will be joined by senior finalists Robert Brazile and Jerry Kramer and contributor finalist Bobby Beathard.

The Selection Committee will meet in Minneapolis on Feb. 3, 2018, the night before the Super Bowl, and elect 4-8 new members of the Hall of Fame. The Class of 2018 will be enshrined next August.

Will Brian Urlacher be elected to the Hall of Fame?

Yes, on this ballot

Yes, but not on the first ballot


This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content