Skip to main content
Website header - Chicago
Advertising | The Official Website of the Chicago Bears


Urlacher nominated for Hall of Fame


Former Bears star middle linebacker Brian Urlacher is among 11 first-year eligible players to be nominated for the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2018.

Urlacher is one of 108 modern-era players and coaches to be selected as a nominee. The list will be reduced to 25 semifinalists in November and 15 finalists in January.


Brian Urlacher is eligible for the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Urlacher played his entire 13-year NFL career with the Bears after being selected with the ninth pick in the 2000 draft out of New Mexico. Fueled by a rare combination of size, speed and toughness, he was voted to eight Pro Bowls, was named NFL Rookie of the Year in 2000 and was selected NFL Defensive Player of the Year in 2005.

Urlacher was a four-time All-Pro who helped the Bears win four division titles and reach the Super Bowl in 2006. He started 180 of 182 games played, recording 1,779 tackles, 41.5 sacks, 22 interceptions, 16 fumble recoveries and 11 forced fumbles. The only players who've started more games for the Bears are Hall of Fame running back Walter Payton (184) and center Olin Kreutz (183).

Other former Bears who are among the 108 nominees for the Hall of Fame's Class of 2018 include guard Ruben Brown, center Jay Hilgenberg and linebacker Wilber Marshall. Among the other first-year eligible nominees are former Ravens middle linebacker Ray Lewis and former receiver Randy Moss.

The 15 finalists will be joined by senior finalists Robert Brazile and Jerry Kramer and contributor finalist Bobby Beathard.

The Selection Committee will meet in Minneapolis on Feb. 3, 2018, the night before the Super Bowl, and elect 4-8 new members of the Hall of Fame.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content