Skip to main content
Advertising | The Official Website of the Chicago Bears

Roster Moves

Brought to you by

Roster Moves: Bears reach NFL's 53-man roster limit


The Bears reached the NFL's mandatory 53-man roster limit Tuesday by waiving 14 players, terminating the contracts of eight vested veterans and placing cornerback Tavon Young on injured reserve.

Six players who were waived appeared in regular season games for the Bears last season: receivers Isaiah Coulter (2) and Nsimba Webster (6), center/guard Dieter Eiselen (2), defensive ends Sam Kamara (8) and Charles Snowden (2); and cornerback Thomas Graham Jr. (4).

Others waived were running backs Darrynton Evans and De'Montre Tuggle; receiver Chris Finke; guard Lachavious Simmons; tight end Chase Allen; defensive tackle Micah Dew-Treadway; linebacker DeMarquis Gates and safety A.J. Thomas.

The eight vested veterans the Bears released were quarterback Nathan Peterman; guard Michael Schofield III; tackle Shon Coleman; defensive tackle Trevon Coley; defensive end Mario Edwards Jr.; cornerback Greg Stroman Jr., safety Davontae Harris and tight end James O'Shaughnessy (with a non-football illness designation). The veterans are not subject to the waiver process and are able to sign with another team immediately.

On Wednesday, the Bears can establish a 16-man practice squad, with six of those players having unlimited NFL experience, and also claim players who have been waived by other NFL teams.

NFL clubs typically stock their practice squads with players they waived during final cuts, so several of the players trimmed from the Bears roster Tuesday could be re-signed to the practice squad.

The Bears kept two quarterbacks on their roster in Justin Fields and Trevor Siemian; three running backs in David Montgomery, Khalil Herbert and Trestan Ebner; and two fullbacks in Khari Blasingame and Jake Tonges.

They kept just two tight ends in Cole Kmet and Ryan Griffin and nine offensive linemen in center/guards Lucas Patrick, Cody Whitehair and Sam Mustipher; guards Teven Jenkins, Ja'Tyre Carter and Zachary Thomas; and tackles Braxton Jones, Larry Borom and Riley Reiff.

The Bears kept seven receivers: Darnell Mooney, Byron Pringle, N'Keal Harry, Equanimeous St. Brown, Velus Jones Jr., Dante Pettis and Tajae Sharpe.

Eight defensive linemen earned roster spots in ends Robert Quinn, Al-Quadin Muhammad, Dominique Robinson and Trevis Gipson; and tackles Angelo Blackson, Khyiris Tonga, Justin Jones and Mike Pennel Jr..

Linebackers who made the 53-man roster were Roquan Smith, Nicholas Morrow, Matthew Adams, Joe Thomas, Jack Sanborn and Caleb Johnson.

The Bears kept 11 defensive backs in cornerbacks Jaylon Johnson, Kyler Gordon, Kindle Vildor, Lamar Jackson, Duke Shelley and Jaylon Jones; and safeties Eddie Jackson, Jaquan Brisker, DeAndre Houston-Carson, Dane Cruikshank and Elijah Hicks.

Their three specialists are kicker Cairo Santos, punter Trenton Gill and long-snapper Patrick Scales.

Take a look at each player on the Bears' initial 53-man active roster for the 2022 season. (Players listed numerically) (As of Aug. 30, 2022)

Ten of the 11 members of Ryan Poles' first draft class as Bears general manager earned roster spots. The only exception was center Doug Kramer, a sixth-round pick from Illinois who was placed on injured reserve Aug. 16.

Three undrafted rookies made the roster: Tonges, a fullback from California; Sanborn, a linebacker from Wisconsin; and Jaylon Jones, a cornerback from Mississippi.

Of the 53 players, Poles acquired 31 this year and inherited 22 from the previous regime.

Here's a breakdown of the 53-man roster as it stands now (in alphabetical order):

Quarterbacks (2): Justin Fields, Trevor Siemian.

Running backs (3): Trestan Ebner, Khalil Herbert, David Montgomery.

Fullbacks (2): Khari Blasingame, Jake Tonges.

Receivers (7): N'Keal Harry, Velus Jones Jr., Darnell Mooney, Dante Pettis, Byron Pringle, Equanimeous St. Brown, Tajae Sharpe.

Tight ends (2): Ryan Griffin, Cole Kmet.

Offensive linemen (9): Larry Borom, Ja'Tyre Carter, Teven Jenkins, Braxton Jones, Sam Mustipher, Lucas Patrick, Riley Reiff, Zachary Thomas, Cody Whitehair.

Defensive linemen (8): Angelo Blackson, Trevis Gipson, Justin Jones, Al-Quadin Muhammad, Mike Pennel Jr., Robert Quinn, Dominique Robinson, Khyiris Tonga.

Linebackers (6): Matthew Adams, Caleb Johnson, Nicholas Morrow, Jack Sanborn, Roquan Smith, Joe Thomas.

Cornerbacks (6): Kyler Gordon, Lamar Jackson, Jaylon Johnson, Jaylon Jones, Duke Shelley, Kindle Vildor.

Safeties (5): Jaquan Brisker, Dane Cruikshank, Elijah Hicks, DeAndre Houston-Carson, Eddie Jackson.

Specialists (3): Trenton Gill, Cairo Santos, Patrick Scales.

Related Content