Skip to main content
Advertising | The Official Website of the Chicago Bears

Bears Bulletin

Bears reveal first depth chart of regular season


The Bears have released their first unofficial depth chart of the regular season in advance of Sunday's opener against the 49ers at Soldier Field.

As expected, Justin Fields is listed as the starting quarterback, with Trevor Siemian as the backup.

David Montgomery is the No. 1 running back, ahead of Khalil Herbert and Trestan Ebner. Khari Blasingame is the only fullback listed.

Darnell Mooney is the starter at one receiver position, ahead of Velus Jones Jr. and Dante Pettis. Equanimeous St. Brown is first at the other wideout spot, followed by Byron Pringle and Ihmir Smith-Marsette.

The starting offensive line consists of left tackle Braxton Jones, left guard Cody Whitehair, center Lucas Patrick, right guard Teven Jenkins and right tackle Larry Borom. The second unit features left tackle Riley Reiff, Patrick at left guard, center Sam Mustipher, right guard Ja'Tyre Carter and right tackle Alex Leatherwood.

Cole Kmet is the No. 1 tight end, ahead of Ryan Griffin, Jake Tonges and Trevon Wesco.

The starting defensive line consists of ends Robert Quinn and Al-Quadin Muhammad and tackles Justin Jones and Angelo Blackson. Second-stringers are ends Dominique Robinson and Trevis Gipson and tackles Armon Watts and Mike Pennel Jr. End Kingsley Jonathan is listed with the third defense.

The starting linebackers are Roquan Smith, backed up by Jack Sanborn; Nicholas Morrow, backed up by Sterling Weatherford; and Matthew Adams.

Jaylon Johnson is the starter at one cornerback position, ahead of Lamar Jackson and Josh Blackwell, while Kyler Gordon is atop the depth chart at the other spot, followed by Kindle Vildor and Jaylon Jones.

At safety, Eddie Jackson and Jaquan Brisker are the starters, DeAndre Houston-Carson and Dane Cruikshank are the backups, and Elijah Hicks is listed with the third team.

The three specialists are kicker Cairo Santos, punter Trenton Gill and long-snapper Patrick Scales.

Herbert is the No. 1 kickoff returner, followed by Jones, Pringle and Ebner, while Jones is the top punt returner, ahead of Pettis and Jackson.

Check out when the Bears will wear each of their five uniform combinations throughout the 2022 season, including four different jerseys and the team's new orange alternate helmet.

Related Content